Skip to main content

Glynn County Board of Commissioners


Government Agencies

About Us

Glynn County, on the Atlantic coast south of the Altamaha River, is one of Georgia’s original eight counties. The county was created February 5, 1777 from 423 square miles of land formerly held by Creek Indians. Glynn County is named for John Glynn, a member of the British Parliament and a friend of the colonies who once held the position of Sergeant of London.

Brunswick is the County’s only municipality and serves as the county seat. The City of Brunswick was named in honor of England’s King George III, who was of the House of Brunswick.

The 2010 Census reported Glynn County’s population at 79,626. The 2000 Census reported 67,568. Demographics

Glynn County’s coastal location is a recreational haven for residents and visitors alike. The county features award-winning golf courses, some of the besting fishing on the East Coast, as well as beautiful beaches on the four coastal islands. The five islands of Glynn County, Jekyll Island, St. Simons Island, Sea Island, Little St. Simons Island, and Blythe Island, make up the Golden Isles, so named because of their vast marshes that turn a beautiful golden color in the fall. The islands' beaches, resorts, shops, and historic sites annually attract visitors from around the world. President George W. Bush hosted the G8 Summit in 2004 on Sea Island.


Gallery Image 4C9D2AC3-A3FC-4F72-AD36-62683781089B.jpeg

Rep/Contact Info

Katie Baasen
Director of Communications
Mr. Allen Booker
Sharon Courson
Deputy Director of EMA
Catherine Davies
Administrative Secretary
Judy Dunnagan
Finance Director
Bill Fallon
County Manager
Monica Hardin
Grants Coordinator
Tonya Moran
Assistant to the County Manager
Wayne Neal
Walter Rafolski
Ronda Vakulich